Basic Economic Security

Mississippi’s Basic Economic Security Tables measure the basic needs and assets workers require for economic security throughout a lifetime and across generations. The Basic Economic Security Tables detail how much families need for basic expenses like food, transportation, child care and rent and how much they need to save for emergencies and retirement in each of Mississippi’s 82 counties. The Tables are different depending on the county a family lives in, the size and type of the family and the age of their children. 

The map below links to county fact sheets that provide Basic Economic Security Tables for every county in Mississippi. Click on a county in the map to view the fact sheet and background information for the county.

Want More? The Basic Economic Security Calculator goes beyond county fact sheets and allows individuals to select their county and family type to calculate basic economic security in their area and match it with different careers and the wages they pay.

Desoto County Marshall County Benton County Tippah County Alcorn County Tishomingo County Tunica County Tate County Prentiss County Coahoma County Quitman County Panola County Lafayette County Union County Itawamba County Lee County Pontotoc County Monroe County Chickasaw County Calhoun County Yalobusha County Tallahatchie County Bolivar County Sunflower County Leflore County Grenada County Carroll County Montgomery County Webster County Clay County Lowndes County Oktibbeha County Choctaw County Washington County Issaquena County Warren County Sharkey County Humphreys County Holmes County Attala County Winston County Noxubee County Yazoo County Madison County Leake County Neshoba County Kemper County Lauderdale County Newton County Scott County Rankin County Hinds County Claiborne County Clarke County Jasper County Smith County Simpson County Copiah County Jefferson County Wayne County Jones County Covington County Jefferson Davis County Lawrence County Lincoln County Franklin County Adams County Wilkinson County Amite County Pike County Walthall County Marion County Lamar County Forrest County Perry County Greene County George County Jackson County Stone County Harrison County Pearl River County Hancock County